AC STORY UPDATE – We have had many emails about our post yesterday titled ‘KIWI’S MUST WIN TODAY TO STAY OUT OF COURT?‘. That a possible or probable litigation may occur if ORACLE wins the next race today. One XS reader has a great solution to stay out of court and sent us his comment yesterday. See Below:
“Oracle withdrew & forfeited from the 45s and was then additionally penalized in another regatta? Truly unprecedented. It should now be 8-8. If Oracle wins on Tuesday (9th race victory ) but subsequently loses the Mug on points you can bet on litigation by Oracle (Larry Ellison has more money than God).”
“How about this solution? The leaders of the two syndicates go out & have a drink. They both agree on a handshake that whoever wins the 1st race in the morning takes the cup. done and done – settle it on the water.”
What do you think? If ORACLE wins today what will happen? Do you agree the two point ruling was fair? If the Kiwis win after ORACLE gets the 9th win will it really be a win? Can they avoid court before the racing begins today with a ‘gentleman’s agreement’ and a handshake? Or is all this too premature, as the Kiwis will win the next race at all costs?
Email us your opinions at [email protected] or click on the ‘leave a comment’ link at the upper right hand corner of this post.